Charge controller

A forum for discussion of how to rig and tune your boat or kicker to achieve the best sailing performance.
whgoffrn
Captain
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X

Charge controller

Post by whgoffrn »

Anyone care to give name and make of a good charge controller for solar panel. I just got off eBay a 100 watt panel with a charge controller however either the controller was a cheap Chinese controller that was defective or I blew it by hooking it up in the incorrect order .. (correct me if I'm wrong negative batt pos batt neg solar panel pos solar panel) I wasn't doing that at first so I may have melted it. Anywho I want to buy a decent one that has display volts or battery % so I'm not constantly looking for my voltameter plus wonder if the mppt controllers are worth the cost and if so what's a good one of those type? I'm new to solar obviously

100wt enough to power a small 34 Engel? And an iPad and small amount of electronics and lights ....i have 2. 29group batts
Chinook
Admiral

Re: Charge controller

Post by Chinook »

We operate with a pair of 50 watt solar panels, and our Engel frig is the largest draw. The system works fine for us. Lots of variables involved, including weather conditions in your planned cruising area, frequency of running the outboard charging system, and size/type of house battery. We have a pair of 6 volt golf cart batteries, hooked up in series, so we do have good storage capacity. Regarding controller, I suggest you try starting by contacting the manufacturer of your panel, or finding a dealership which markets that type of panel. They should be able to point you toward the proper controller.
kurz
Admiral
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M

Post by kurz »

I also have two 50w solar panels and a waeco fridge. I run the fridge only if volt is above 12.5V and electricity comes from the panels. Most time works ok.

Concerning the controller: Look for an mppt controller. So you can wire your panels in serial, better for the mppt.