Transduce location

A forum for discussing topics relating to MacGregor Powersailor Sailboats

Moderators: Catigale, Paul S, Heath_Mod, beene, Hamin' X, kmclemore, tangentair

Post Reply
User avatar
1-Tntimbo
Engineer
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:19 am
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X
Location: Germantown TN

Transduce location

Post by 1-Tntimbo » Thu May 29, 2014 10:23 am

I am installing a depth finder/chart recorder with a transom mount transducer. I would like some advice on best location for installing.

User avatar
gabid
Engineer
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:32 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X
Location: Toronto

Re: Transduce location

Post by gabid » Thu May 29, 2014 1:02 pm

Mine is installed on the starboard side, about 3" below the waterline and mid distance between rudder and the edge of the hull.
Cable is routed together with the steering cable -- through the hole on starboard wall and from aft berth it goes up to the pedestal.

User avatar
1-Tntimbo
Engineer
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:19 am
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X
Location: Germantown TN

Re: Transduce location

Post by 1-Tntimbo » Thu May 29, 2014 5:00 pm

Looks like a good spot! I will try that.
Thanks
T

User avatar
JohnCFI
First Officer
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:44 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X
Location: Falkland Islands

Re: Transduce location

Post by JohnCFI » Thu May 29, 2014 6:34 pm

I mounted mine below the Stbd rear table seat and about 6" from the keel. Works perfectly.

User avatar
Doug W
Captain
Posts: 633
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:08 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M
Location: Prairie Home MO - Galactica - 2010 26M with Etec 60
Contact:

Re: Transduce location

Post by Doug W » Fri May 30, 2014 1:50 am

I didn't feel like drilling holes in my brand new hull when I installed mine so I got a large stainless steel hose clamp and mounted mine to the water ballast port which puts the transducer even with the bottom of the hull about a foot port side of the engine. It's worked great there even when I had the boat laying on sand at low tide so I have never moved it--we are on our fifth season with the boat now!

Doug & Angie

User avatar
RussMT
Admiral
Posts: 5527
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:01 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M
Location: Bozeman, Montana "Luna Azul" 2008 M 70hp Suzi

Re: Transduce location

Post by RussMT » Fri May 30, 2014 8:00 am

Doug W wrote:I didn't feel like drilling holes in my brand new hull when I installed mine so I got a large stainless steel hose clamp and mounted mine to the water ballast port which puts the transducer even with the bottom of the hull about a foot port side of the engine. It's worked great there even when I had the boat laying on sand at low tide so I have never moved it--we are on our fifth season with the boat now!

Doug & Angie
Mine came mounted on the transom flush with the bottom of the boat. However, if I were doing it, Doug's method would be the way to go. It addition to no new holes, it is protected against grounding, especially when backed into a beach.

User avatar
mrron_tx
First Officer
Posts: 452
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:21 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M
Location: Dauntless located in Grapeland Texas

Re: Transduce location

Post by mrron_tx » Fri May 30, 2014 10:49 am

I mounted Mine inside , port side where the bilge meets the ballast tank. Already had a Hummingbird transducer located stbd @ the waterline. They both seem to agree with each other + or - a bit. :) Ron.

User avatar
1-Tntimbo
Engineer
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:19 am
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X
Location: Germantown TN

Re: Transduce location

Post by 1-Tntimbo » Fri May 30, 2014 11:07 am

I am also a bit reluctant to start drilling on my hull. I will try Dougs idea first., it sounds good to me, thanks for all the input.
T

Wayne nicol
Captain
Posts: 626
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:21 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M
Location: Queen CHarlotte Islands,B.C.---------------- lightning white 2012 26M "Merrylegs"

Re: Transduce location

Post by Wayne nicol » Fri May 30, 2014 1:07 pm

on my other fish boat i made a ali. bracket that bolted to the transom about a foot above the waterline- that extended into the water- and it was attached to it.
on my :macm: , i got a "shoot thru the hull" transducer( not to be confused with a thru hull transducer), and it is mounted portside , mid ships right next to the ballast tank.
works perfectly- not worrying about it being damaged, or kicking up, or getting kelp around it etc etc.

Bluenote
Just Enlisted
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:12 pm
Sailboat: Other
Location: Fernie, B.C. Canada

Re: Transduce location

Post by Bluenote » Fri May 30, 2014 9:37 pm

Just a thought. I used to own an 2003M with a stern mounted unit - it was peeled off by some lake debris. I mounted a depth finder on my 95 Santana 2023C up in the foredeck ahead of the ballast tank. Not sure if that is an option on the Macs in terms of where the tank starts - perhaps somewhere forward port or starboard would also work. I definitely like having it mounted in the bow as it gives a little more warning on the approaching depth. I just used silicone 3" from the centreline where the hull is less thick.
Paul

Bluenote
Just Enlisted
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:12 pm
Sailboat: Other
Location: Fernie, B.C. Canada

Re: Transduce location

Post by Bluenote » Fri May 30, 2014 9:45 pm

Check that. I meant beneath the fore berth.
Paul

Gater Dunn
First Officer
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 11:25 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X
Location: Victoria B.C. Canada N48º25.506 W123º18.178 OakBay Marina

Re: Transduce location

Post by Gater Dunn » Sat May 31, 2014 1:55 am

I think JohnCFI and mrron_tx are talking about the internal puck transducer.

User avatar
JohnCFI
First Officer
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:44 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X
Location: Falkland Islands

Re: Transduce location

Post by JohnCFI » Sat May 31, 2014 9:07 am

Gater Dunn wrote:I think JohnCFI and mrron_tx are talking about the internal puck transducer.
Correct, I would not be happy drilling the hull :cry:

Wayne nicol
Captain
Posts: 626
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:21 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M
Location: Queen CHarlotte Islands,B.C.---------------- lightning white 2012 26M "Merrylegs"

Re: Transduce location

Post by Wayne nicol » Sat May 31, 2014 10:43 am

just make sure you get the "shoot thru the hull" transducer.
the "thru hull" transducer requires cutting a big hole in the hull.

when i was ordering mine there was a lot of confusion between me and the saleman- but luckily we got the terminology sorted out. :)

User avatar
1-Tntimbo
Engineer
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:19 am
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X
Location: Germantown TN

Re: Transduce location

Post by 1-Tntimbo » Sat May 31, 2014 11:56 am

Just finished installing the transducer bracket on my 26X, Turns out the mounting bracket was pre-formed to fit a 3 1/2" pipe, (same as my ballast intake) it even had a slot for a hose clamp.

First time I had taken time to inspect the bracket since recieving it from Lowrance. Made the little project very simple.
T

Post Reply