Looking for intro sail on 26M or X near Mobile or Pensacola

A forum for discussing topics relating to MacGregor Powersailor Sailboats

Moderators: Catigale, Paul S, Heath_Mod, beene, Hamin' X, kmclemore, tangentair

dwlangham

Looking for intro sail on 26M or X near Mobile or Pensacola

Post by dwlangham » Mon Jan 01, 2018 11:26 am

Hello. This time next year I hope to purchase a trailer sailer. In addition to the Mac 26 x/m, I'm looking hard at the Rhodes 22.

I have no experience with either boat. I like the interior size and motoring capability of the Macs but am leery that it may be too "tippy" for my taste. I would like to see for myself how it handles in a freshening breeze (15 to 18 mph).

To that end, I'm looking for a 26M or X owner in the Mobile / Pensacola area who wouldn't mind my company on a day sail.

Thanks!

Don

sailboatmike
Admiral
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X

Re: Looking for intro sail on 26M or X near Mobile or Pensac

Post by sailboatmike » Mon Jan 01, 2018 5:08 pm

Dont believe the "Macs are tippy" rubbish put about by people who have never sailed one, in fact Macs are extremely stable, far less tippy than my old JOG (Junior Offshore Group) trailer sailor I used to own, the fact is that you feel a bit more heeled due to the high cockpit, in actual fact you are on lesser angle of heel, you get the same feeling on all boats with high freeboards, but if you want a trailer boat with decent berth under the cockpit you have to compromise the height of the cockpit floor, I must admit it can feel a bit strange at first but you get used to it.