hi from clueless noob, and Qs

A forum for discussing topics relating to MacGregor Powersailor Sailboats

Moderators: Catigale, Paul S, Heath_Mod, beene, Hamin' X, kmclemore, tangentair

payaso del mar
Sailboat: I'm Shopping

hi from clueless noob, and Qs

Post by payaso del mar » Fri May 18, 2018 5:08 pm

Hola MacPersons—

Been lurking for a while and decided that I’m getting close enough to buying one I should sign on. Used to have a Mac25, but one of the motorsailers is what I’ve been lusting after for about the last 10 years.

I’ve read the M vs. X thread, the dismasting thread, and the one on rudder beefing. A few Qs. If these have already been answered, please just point me where I should go.

1. I was able to tow our M25 with my 4 cyl Taco (2.7 liter 3RZ, 165 ft-lb, 5 speed manual, rated to tow 3500# but I’ve pulled 4000 with it), even over NM mountain passes, by shifting down and being willing to crawl up it in 2d or 3d. how much more does an X weigh? Wiki seems to suggest within about 300#. Do y’all think it would be totally unfeasible to do this with an X? I’m assuming the extra weight of an M would be totally out of my range….?

2. Specific failure-prone areas to look at on used Xs? I know about the standing rigging and the rudder/bracket assembly….que mas?

3. Suggestions on Incredibly Persuasive Arguments to use to try to convince the Admiral to approve a semi frivolous $15,000+ purchase….??

Thanks in advance for all input, jeers, thrown rotten fruit, etc! Some time I’ll tell you how my wife came to bestow that handle upon me, why I still have sea urchin spines in my toe, and how I managed to accidentally test every extravagant claim the portabote folks make on their website……

dlandersson
Admiral
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X

Re: hi from clueless noob, and Qs

Post by dlandersson » Fri May 18, 2018 6:42 pm

No, if the X were empty. But if you are going to any other "stuff" you might want to think about renting a vehicle with greater tow capacity. 8)