Adding Shore Power

A forum for discussing topics relating to MacGregor Powersailor Sailboats

Moderators: Catigale, Paul S, Heath_Mod, beene, Hamin' X, kmclemore, tangentair

Post Reply
Duquette5
Chief Steward
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:19 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 19
Location: Central Massachusetts

Adding Shore Power

Post by Duquette5 » Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:16 am

In preparation of slipping Dukling this season I'm adding shore power. I've got all the parts delivered and ready to install on Dukling. Now the million dollar question... where to put the shore power inlet? I know I have to keep it within 10' of the main panel or I'll need to add another breaker. I don't really see this as an issue on a 19... I searched mods and the forums but the searches came back with a lot of stuff for the 26 crowd. Thoughts and suggestions please.

>M<

kurz
Captain
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:07 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M
Location: Zürich, Switzerland, Europe

Re: Adding Shore Power

Post by kurz » Fri Feb 22, 2019 4:24 am

I installed the inled in the anchor locker. The reason is: I always stay forwart in a slip. So it is the easiest to connect to shore power. So I don't know how it is with a 19, maybe the same.
There is a cable with ca. 1m cable in the anchor locker. So I can easily connect also with a cable reel.

Baha
First Officer
Posts: 236
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 4:58 am
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M
Location: UK

Re: Adding Shore Power

Post by Baha » Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:20 am

I am considering not hard-wiring the shore power at all. In the UK, they have power leads with a GFI unit included.

Post Reply