AITA? Opposite tacks at windward mark.

Use this forum to announce, plan, and discuss events, cruises, regattas, shows, sailing destinations, events your club is planning, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
Stickinthemud57
Captain
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 7:50 am
Sailboat: MacGregor 26S
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Contact:

AITA? Opposite tacks at windward mark.

Post by Stickinthemud57 »

A situation developed in a recent race, and I am thinking it is the other skipper who is in the wrong.

OK, here we go.

In the second race yesterday, We (EB) were approaching the windward mark on a starboard tack. (see the first graphic "opposite tacks at mark developing") Another boat (name not known), after failing to make their lay line on a starboard tack, had to turn to a port tack as they approached the mark.

This created a situation where we would both be rounding the mark at the same time (not overlapping, as they were on an opposite tack). I called "starboard", expecting them to yield. Instead they attempted to round the mark directly in front of me (see the second graphic "opposite tacks at mark"). They were pretty much in the irons at that point, with only momentum moving them forward. I had to take evasive action to avoid a collision, so close that I had to fend us off by hand. By then they had lost directional control and velocity and drifted into the mark. Frankly, I'm hoping my push had something to do with that.

After getting in the way of another boat on a starboard tack, they did a penalty 360 and continued sailing.

At no point did they call for room at the mark.

As I see it, they were entirely in the wrong. As we were on a starboard tack and they a port, they were supposed to yield, yet it was I who had to make an evasive maneuver. Given the difference in boat angle, I'm not sure they could have claimed an overlap situation, which would be required before they could call for room at the mark.

I would love to hear your thoughts, especially if you think I did not react to the situation properly.

Thanks!

Image


Image
The key to inner peace is to admit you have a problem and leave it at that.
User avatar
Jimmyt
Admiral
Posts: 3402
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:52 am
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M
Location: Mobile AL 2013 26M, 60 Etec

Re: AITA? Opposite tacks at windward mark.

Post by Jimmyt »

Agree with you. The fact that you were both approaching the mark on opposite tacks on a beat windward seems to be the overarching consideration. Mark room rules don't seem to apply in this situation. Seems that starboard tack has right of way.
Jimmyt
P-Cub-Boo
2013 26M, Etec 60, roller Genoa, roller main
Cruising Waters: Mobile Bay, Western Shore, Fowl River
wakataka
Chief Steward
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:06 pm
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X
Location: Redding California

Re: AITA? Opposite tacks at windward mark.

Post by wakataka »

Interesting situation. From what I could glean, Rule 18, which governs rounding marks and obstructions, does not apply when two boats are approaching a windward mark on different tacks. The starboard boat has the ROW all the way to the mark. There's an example analogous to your situation near the the bottom of this page - http://www.sailingbreezes.com/sailing_b ... 6/dell.htm
User avatar
Stickinthemud57
Captain
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 7:50 am
Sailboat: MacGregor 26S
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Contact:

Re: AITA? Opposite tacks at windward mark.

Post by Stickinthemud57 »

Thanks for that! I'll check it out.
The key to inner peace is to admit you have a problem and leave it at that.
PSNA
Engineer
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 7:02 am
Sailboat: Other
Location: Florida

Re: AITA? Opposite tacks at windward mark.

Post by PSNA »

You may want to read up on "mark room". There is a three-boat length zone around the mark and there are special rules of engagement when two boats are within it. If you were the first boat to pierce it, then you had right of way. If the other boat did, then he MAY have had it. There isn't enough information provided to determine who was at fault.
User avatar
Stickinthemud57
Captain
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 7:50 am
Sailboat: MacGregor 26S
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Contact:

Re: AITA? Opposite tacks at windward mark.

Post by Stickinthemud57 »

PSNA wrote: Sat Apr 08, 2023 7:40 am You may want to read up on "mark room". There is a three-boat length zone around the mark and there are special rules of engagement when two boats are within it. If you were the first boat to pierce it, then you had right of way. If the other boat did, then he MAY have had it. There isn't enough information provided to determine who was at fault.
As I understand it, and as feedback from others seems to be confirming, rules "in the zone" don't override rules 10 and 13, both of which came into play in this situation. The boat on the starboard tack (my boat, EB in the diagrams) had right of way but was forced to alter course to avoid a collision. I have been the boat on the port tack at a mark often enough, and yielding to the "stand-on" boat is required, rule 18 notwithstanding.

Also, Rule 18 explicitly does not apply "between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward" (18.1-a).

I am curious - what other information would you need to determine who was at fault?

That I need to "read up on mark room" is true, since I had to look it up to be sure.
The key to inner peace is to admit you have a problem and leave it at that.
PSNA
Engineer
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 7:02 am
Sailboat: Other
Location: Florida

Re: AITA? Opposite tacks at windward mark.

Post by PSNA »

1. Who broke the zone first?
2. Was that boat completely inside the zone before the other?
3. Did the other boat tack inside or outside the zone?

Obviously, a boat on starboard tack usually has the right of way. However, there are a few exceptions. Look at what happens when two boats on starboard enter the cone. The windward boat must give way.
User avatar
Stickinthemud57
Captain
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 7:50 am
Sailboat: MacGregor 26S
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Contact:

Re: AITA? Opposite tacks at windward mark.

Post by Stickinthemud57 »

1. I can't say for sure, but I would say the other boat broke the zone first (since they were trying to point too high, as it turns out). They were on a starboard tack when they entered the zone, but had to switch to a port tack since they were falling short of the mark. It was at that point I called "starboard".

2. Possible. Can't say.

3. Inside, from starboard to port, within a few boat lengths of the mark which I was approaching on a starboard tack.

What are the exceptions to a boat on a starboard tack having right of way over a boat on a port tack?

Yes, when on the same tack (port or starboard) the downwind boat is the stand-on boat. Not the situation here.
The key to inner peace is to admit you have a problem and leave it at that.
Post Reply